Have an attractive heading not a clickbait!

For those who are wondering what a clickbait is then you must have seen various links titled as “click this and you can be a millionaire within few seconds” or even certain blogs or articles are titled like “read it and it will change your life” and when you actually click on it,most of the time it’s something so irrelevant to the topic having all false content that totally will waste your time and energy you are investing on reading it. Such articles are know as clickbait that are usually created to just attract readers.Now I know attracting readers with a unique title is not a bad thing but just imagine you in the place of the reader and you click a post and find out all false content which is opposite to title then how disappointed you will be? Once the readers get disappointed with your articles, they might never return to read any of your published articles again.

So wondering how can you avoid clickbait and still have attractive heading for your post?

1.My tip is to first complete writing the main content of your post and then go for the title.Now this will help you to find the keywords in your article and on the basis of those keywords develop an attractive title. For example- my whole content is based on two important keywords clickbait and attractive heading thus it’s a must that I should develop a title having these two words in it.

2.You must have heard people saying that your title should touch reader’s heart.Now it doesn’t mean that you should attack people’s emotions. It means to have a title that will show how useful your content is to the reader and make sure by reading your title itself the reader should know about your article that you have published and please avoid going for any cheesy title like “this article will bring colors in your life” which absolutely doesn’t make any sense.

3.As I said in my previous post too you can always have your title begin with how should______ ? or what should____? or things people should___ and so on. Try keeping your title as short as possible because if the title itself is huge people tend to get bored while reading your content and many would not even dare read your article if you have a complex and huge title.

Published by Swetha

I am currently pursuing my B.E. in computer science and really into reading and writing.Currently working on building up one's communication skills,helping people know about Business English and it's use especially in India.

28 thoughts on “Have an attractive heading not a clickbait!

      1. Awww… the feeling is mutual. Just got to know you are staying in Chennai now. I’m a school head in the southern part of T
        amil Nadu and have my share of difficulties making my teachers communicate in good English. Basically they don’t have the drive to speak in English and all my efforts to train them have gone in vain. Would like to hear your comments on it.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. I can totally understand as I am a student,it was really hard for me as teachers here only communicate in Tamil…well regarding your problem have you tried showing them ted talks and stuff? I got interested in English only because of the way they talk and their accent which is so classy ..try circulating some amazing funny ted talks first which will get them interested,they can learn from it easily rather than some old dictionary or classes right?

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I’ve shown them lots of videos and other resources. Thing is there is no actual need to learn the language as they can get any job easily in the area without English fluency. I’m thinking of starting an online English class which may help not just the teachers but others in my community as well. I really can’t stand substandard English and I want to keep doing whatever I can. Anyways, thanks for your input.😊

        Liked by 2 people

      4. It’s a great idea to start online classes especially in this pandemic period..but still I hope your school teachers improvise themselves soon..then only it would be beneficial for students ..Good luck!!

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started